iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cutting Sycamore and Usage

Started by Randy, January 07, 2005, 01:30:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Randy

Hello Everyone!! I have been reading your advice on this Forum for weeks now--I look forward to it daily. I am new at sawing--Only a couple of months. I got a neighbor that has 3 sycamores that were just cut down. One is 36" at the base. I have never cut a sycamore and don't know how to recommend to him to cut it. He is remodeling a cabin by a lake. Any suggestions on how to cut this--Like--for studs or joist or sheating or paneling or just firewood(how is it best to use it)?? Is this tree like cutting a Oak or softer wood(bad on blades)? Is there some link on the computer that would tell you what each type of  tree would be best used for as a building material? Thanks Randy

oakiemac

Randy,

Welcome to the site!

Sycamore seems to cut easy and is not very hard. I would quater saw the sycamore if I was you. Flat sawn Sycamore doesn't have too much appeal but it is beautiful when quartered. It had fine ray flecks that make it look like lacewood-and it is sometimes called the American lacewood.
Now if you just want if for construction lumber,  I'm not sure how it would work for that. I would use pine or cottonwood or poplar for the contruction wood and q-s the sycamore for paneling or cabinets inside the cabin.
Mobile Demension sawmill, Bobcat 873 loader, 3 dry kilns and a long "to do" list.

ronwood

Randy,

All the sycamore that I cut was qaurtersawn for furniture lumber. Not as stable when flatsawn although it has been cut that way. If you cut it into construction lumber I would try and use it right away. Nailing it together will help keep it straighter.

Ron
Sawing part time mostly urban logs -St. Louis/Warrenton, Mo.
LT40HG25 Woodmizer Sawmill
LX885 New Holland Skidsteer

Ga_Boy

Randy,