iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Drying cedar logs

Started by Rah244, December 11, 2017, 12:45:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rah244

I'm a beginner, so bear with me, but about 6 weeks ago I cut down 5 cedar trees, up to 24" in diameter. I saved the logs thinking I would like to mill them into boards/posts and use them for some projects. How long do I have to let the logs dry before I mill them? Thinking about buying a chainsaw mill. They are stored outside, but up off the ground several inches.

Ianab

Generally you want to mill logs green, then dry the boards. Its easier cutting and there is less risk of degrade like rot and splitting. But don't be discouraged as cedar is both easy to cut, even when dry, and durable. So your logs will last a long time, and should still make good boards.
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

drobertson

Yea, Ian pretty much laid it out, dry boards not logs, unless you plan on building a cabin, with basically a pure log form. and even in this case, allowing the logs to dry out is not a bad idea before doing some minor surface preparations to even out the courses.  Lots left to the imagination as you left it in your original post.. fact is options galore, with mistakes to be made for sure, and they only add to the adventure,,get ready!
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

Magicman

Adding your location to your profile will help with answering questions.  The answer would be the same but there are many different species and subspecies of Cedars.

Oh and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People