iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Woodland Pro Chain still good?

Started by MNBobcat, October 23, 2017, 05:53:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MNBobcat

Hi All,

Read a number of old posts that were saying the woodland pro chains were better than Oregon.  At the time, people were claiming Oregon went down hill.   But that was years ago and things change.

I'm just wondering if anyone is running the woodland pro and how you like them?

I have a Dolmar 6100 with 20" bar that runs 3/8 .050 chain and I need to order some loops.  Trying to decide what to get.   typically run semi-chisel.  This is my first year on the new saw.

hedgerow

Woodland pro chains semi-chisel is all I run and they seem to hold up good. I buy them when they are on sale. I run 20" bars most of the time but do have a 36" for my big saw. We cut around 20 cords of wood a year all of it is locust and hedge.

OH logger

I bought a few about a year ago and I didn't like em. they didn't hold an edge good and they were real hard to sharpen. the file wanted to skip on em and not cut (file). they were cheap though. so at least they had that going for em  >:(
john

Al_Smith

I didn't like woodland pro .It was a "house chain" sold by a previous sponsor of this site that sold to another owner which I no longer do business with .It was rather cheap at the time .

John Mc

If I recall, Woodland Pro chains were made by Tilton (?? might be remembering the name incorrectly). I gave up on those 6 or 8 years ago when a couple of chainshad teeth and depth gauges that just would not sharpen. My guess is they had prblems intheirhea treec I ruined a couple of files trying to sharpen them.

I've not tried any of their chain since. Who knows, maybe they addressed those problems.
If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.   - Abraham Maslow

HolmenTree

It's just rebadged Carlton which is owned by Oregon.
Making a living with a saw since age 16.

John Mc