iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is there a going rate for cutting on 1/2s, 1/3s, whatever?

Started by Back Ache, April 06, 2018, 10:32:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Back Ache

I have a Woodmizer LT15 and plenty of access to logs(oak, walnut, pine) but I have no time. I've been building my house for going on 5 years and working 7 days a week is getting old(5 days building houses and weekends building my personal house). Somewhere along the line I have developed a case of OCD.

There are several people around here with larger mills. Is there a going rate for dropping off logs and picking up lumber? Say I cut and deliver the logs and they mill them and I take 1/2, 1/3, 2/3, ect?

I basically want to end up with enough 17' 5/4x5 oak to do my floors(2,200 sq ft of so of 3/4x4) some 4x8 pine, and a lot of 1x8x13 and 1x3x13 pine to run B&B siding on my 40x68 shop and finish siding my 40x60 pole barn.

That manual Woodmizer  is just too time consuming for a one man show that is building a house, shop and pole barn.

Back in the day we had a firefighter that would cut on halves. Hoping that is an accepted practice.

Southside

Now and then I will do something on shares - if I want the logs - but they have to be something special, not sure what others will or won't do.  I don't see you getting back more than 50%.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

POSTON WIDEHEAD

The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

WV Sawmiller

What could you buy the lumber for in your area? What could you cut, transport and sell the logs for in your area?

I'd think that would determine the percentage to offer/accept.
Howard Green