iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

MS291 or MS311 for firewood

Started by buxtonfarmer, October 03, 2017, 08:41:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

buxtonfarmer

is it worth the extra on the MS311 or would the MS291 be fine for  trees 12-18 inches in diameter used for firewood (Red Gum mainly) or better to get the MS311.

Other thought is Ms291 upgrade to Carlton chain? and also buy granberg sharpener with the same cost of the MS311.

HuntTilDusk

id go with the with the MS311 or even better a 391,  I wouldn't worry about upgrading a chain if youre just cutting firewood, stihl chains are great as long as you take care of them
"There are some who can live without wild things and some who cannot."
― Aldo Leopold

ButchC

I have no experience with Red Gum but in our hardwoods a 291 will handle all your needs for firewood. One thing I have learned in years of hosting wood cutting days for charity is few people run sharp chains.   You are smart in your quest to learn how to sharpen chains and have good equipment to accomplish it. Stihl chain is a bit harder than Carton or Oregon, any of them work great when maintained none are worth spit when not. Important is the cutter type, chisel cuts fastest but dulls quickest in dirty wood. Semi chisel will cut longer in abrasive conditions.
Peterson JP swing mill
Morbark chipper
Shop built firewood processor
Case W11B
Many chainsaws, axes, hatchets,mauls,
Antique tractors and engines, machine shop,wife, dog,,,,,that's about it.

buxtonfarmer

ok the MS291 is about $250 AUD cheaper here i think it was. so if that would work would be great, will be used maybe twice a month if that.

thanks for the compliment on sharpening, I have a knife fetish also and love sharpening those so it was a given for me hahahaha.

I was looking at a semi chisel to last longer as I think it will still be fine for the amount Ill use it.

Ianab