iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Preferred exposed timber in Northeast with winter milling?

Started by LukesScreenName, September 19, 2017, 06:07:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LukesScreenName

Another ignorant newbie here eager to learn from y'all.  So thank you in advance. I have no experience with constructing timber frame with traditional joinery so I apologize for the impending stupid questions. I have read a few books lol.  I live in, and have been renovating, a late 1700's center chimney cape with, what I have been told is, an impressive hand hewn frame (much of which I have exposed). It still has me in awe almost every day.

So, down to my first questions for you fine folks. 

Question 1:  I would like to build a simple small (14'x12') screened timber frame building (for outdoor sitting). Probably, 2ft eves so the frame will be exposed to the Northern New England weather year-round. I have about 40ac of Eastern white pine which I have read is a favored species (I might still buy from a lumber mill?). I wonder how E. white pine would hold up exposed to the weather? When I lived out west I used Doug fir on several outdoor structural applications but I don't know about availability in NH.  Any advice on what species I should consider? I certainly can oil but would prefer it not be a yearly maintenance need. 

Question 2: This may depend on question 1 but... I would like to be able to cut the joinery/timber components this winter in my unheated shop and then build in the spring.  Despite good intentions it could be as late a June before assembly.  How much trouble am I asking for by potentially waiting that long considering that much of the time will be very cold?

LukesScreenName

Bummer. I was really hoping someone could help me out.
Perhaps I am asking irrelevant or obvious things? I'd be grateful if someone could clue me into that too. Thanks.

Don P