iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member intro, questions on western juniper, Pinyon pine and Ponderosa

Started by ut_cottonwood, September 05, 2017, 06:24:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ut_cottonwood

Hello and good day to everyone, new member here but I have been lurking for years on and off.

Some intro here, feel free to scroll down to the bolded area for my questions

I recently purchased a BSM (Woodland HM126) for hobby use on my property.  I live in the high desert where access to free Juniper and pinyon pine is readily available, with logging operations in nearby mountains limited to ponderosa, some fir and spruce, and occasionally aspen.  Hardwoods are very limited out here.

The wife and I are hobby farmers with a small acreage in New Harmony, UT, about a mile from the Kolob area of Zion National Park. 

I am a detail oriented engineer by trade and building things occupies my free time.

My projects and planned use of the BSM include:
-chicken coops (my wife has 75+ chickens/turkeys, help me  :'( )
-horse and lambing sheds
-a large timber frame barn (years down the road)
-more sheds for my compact tractor, four wheelers, and other items to keep them out of the weather
-maybe a wood shop?
-a significant amount of traditional fencing

My motivation for milling my own lumber is primarily for quality purposes.  I want to use real 2x4, real beams, and also our climate is well suited for using Juniper directly in the soil (posts last 50+ years when tamped properly) so I want to mill some larger juniper beams for structural uses (6"x6"x9') on sheds.  We get 8 to 15" of moisture a year, mostly snow in the winter.

I'm an ex wildland firefighter (summer job during college) and learned to love a chainsaw in those days.  I currently own a Husqvarna 372xp and started with a simple CSM but realized it was too slow and wasteful pretty quick.

On to my questions