iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Any suggestions on a good portable sawmill

Started by backwoodscedar, August 19, 2017, 04:23:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

backwoodscedar

I'm new to the Sawyer side of things I started my own little logging business just doing staves,poles etc. Business has been somewhat good but everyone keeps asking when am I going to get a sawmill. I been looking around and within a 50mile radius there is no sawmill got alot off family in the building and construction side of stuff and I have access to over 2000 acres of good cedar timber so what I'm getting to is what would be a good sawmill for a first timer but I also am a one man show

Kbeitz

That's kinda like the Ford verses Chevy thing...
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

Dave Shepard

Start looking at our sponsors to the left.  I have a Wood Mizer, and it has been great, with great customer service. Welcome to the Forum.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Magicman

Adding your location to your profile helps with questions/answers, and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

The sponsors on the left offer many levels of sawmill ranging from entry/hobby level to professional.  Knowing your intended market, available support equipment, and labor will help to determine which level of sawmill and related options that you might need.  Of course there is always the old "budget" that is also a deciding factor.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

backwoodscedar