iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Felling forked tree advice

Started by bryan9915, July 20, 2017, 09:30:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bryan9915

Need some advice.  To be fair I am not sure if it is a forked tree, 2 trees that grew together, or a really low branch.  I have attached some pictures for reference. I have limited experience trimming and felling but think this is something I can handle.  As you can see the majority of the area is clear and the branch would be able to just fall.  The issue is the fence near the tree (hard to see due to vines and other overgrowth).  The fence (circled in blue) is all rusted together so there is no way to remove sections.  Is there a method to cut it enough to let the end fall but have enough fiber left to remain attached to the trunk.  Then I can trim it and cut it into manageable sections.  The branch/tree connects to the big trunk about 3 feet off the ground.  Any other suggestions? TIA

TKehl

Not the safest, but cutting a couple foot from the base and only from the top will make an intentional split.  Have done this on many leaning trees along fence lines.  Works better ones that are a bit smaller than that one.

This only works on live trees/limbs without rot.

Cut from top and you will hear it start to split.  Cut slow and the split/droop can give a bit of a controlled fall.  Sometimes there are surprises though and it will just snap and break. 

If in doubt, hire someone to come do a cut and drop.  Would be a quick easy job for a tree service.
In the long run, you make your own luck – good, bad, or indifferent. Loretta Lynn

grouch

Get a pole saw and start at the droopy end. Lighten the load as much as you can -- cut all the little branches -- and work your way back to the base.
Find something to do that interests you.

DDW_OR

Quote from: grouch on July 20, 2017, 12:26:49 PM