The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

TimberKing Sawmills

Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools

Forest Products Industry Insurance

Norwood Industries Inc.

Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine

Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL

Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA

Forestry Forum Tool Box

Author Topic: Complete noob hoping to plan first project  (Read 512 times)

Offline Tsmall07

• I'm new!
Complete noob hoping to plan first project
« on: July 14, 2017, 08:22:58 pm »
Hello, 

My name is Tyler and I live in northern Virginia.  I've just joined the site because I've always wanted to start timber framing, but I really have no opportunity to learn from anyone living in the DC metro area.  I've got "A Timber Framer's Workshop" and have begun reading that.  It is a lot of information to take in all at once.  For my first project, I would like to build a front porch for our house.  The house is a single level rambler.  The roof pitch appears to be 4:12.  I haven't measured it yet, but it's pretty shallow.  I think any front porch element will need to match the pitch of the original house.  Most of the timber frame designs I've seen for king-post trusses are 90 at the peak.  Is it possible to have a 4:12 slope with a king post truss?  Second question is what is the best way to learn to design a truss or is there any resources out there where I can pay for a quick truss design to get me started? 

I appreciate any help given.  I'm confident I can complete a project like this, I just need a little push to help get me started. 

Offline Don P

• Senior Member x2
    • Calculator Index
Re: Complete noob hoping to plan first project