iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stilh 029 Super

Started by bdsmith, July 14, 2017, 06:25:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bdsmith

I'm new to chainsaws and have inherited a Stihl 029 Super that seems to work pretty good.  I've run about 5 tanks of gas through it and sharpened the chain about 4 times.  Now something strange has come up.  I am unable to tension the chain properly.  The adjuster is full against the stop and there is about 3/4" between the bar and the links.  I figured I need a new chain so I looked it over to see what size to buy.
The chain has "25" on the links which I interpret as 0.325 pitch and 0.050 gauge.  The bar is stamped with "Oregon 183SLGD025" which is a 0.325 pitch and 0.063 gauge. 

Q1: Did I stretch the chain while I was using it?  Is that a wear mode?
Q2: Have I been using a dangerous tool and been super lucky? 
Q3: Did I ruin the bar and should I replace it? (How would I know the bar is worn out?)

Texas-Jim

Chains actually wear far more than they stretch. Every link wears as you use the saw over time. You can take a link out but i hate doing that. I prefer buy a chain once its wore to that degree. Also check drive sprocket to see if its wore badly. But this circumstance is common to all saws at some point.
What we do in life echoes through eternity.

joe_indi

18" Bar for 74 drive links of 0.325 chain.
Lay the chain on a flat surface with drive links facing each other for an accurate count.
If you have an extra drive link or two you can take them out to shorten the chain.
If it has 74 drive links,taking out acutter and drive link might shorten the chain, but..............it would be safer to buy a new chain

thechknhwk

Seems odd that the chain is suddenly 3/4" too long.  Are you sure you have it seated on the drive sprocket properly?  (I may have done that before)

PNWRusty

Quote from: thechknhwk on July 16, 2017, 02:40:31 AM