iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tongue and groove walls

Started by arkvet, July 02, 2017, 01:29:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arkvet

I'm in the process of building a pretty massive treehouse in my back yard. Although I purchased the pine lumber to frame it I'm very adamant that all the finishing be done with lumber I cut from my EZ boardwalk JR!  I'm an extreme novice but am loving this process. I've cut quite a bit of 3/4" eastern cedar (off my own property) that I'm using on the exterior and so far it's looking great.  (I'll try to share a pic or two).

Yesterday I went out "tree hunting" and was able to fell a good handful of additional cedar trees and I think I'll have enough to finish the exterior and likely the interior too.

I'm planning to cut some white oak to tongue and groove for the flooring but I am still undecided on the interior walls. My first thought is to use more cedar for its various positive qualities, especially in a treehouse.

If you were to use cedar for the interior walls how would you dimension the lumber (I would likely just use it rough) and square up edges with table saw. What thickness? Tongue and groove?

Sounds like a ton of work but I think something to be proud of.  Although I've done quite a lot of woodworking, tongue and groove is something I've never tackled. Any recommendations for router (table?) and bit sets?  Remember I'm a weekender and not a pro so I don't have to have a commercial grade.

Thanks for any suggestions. I plan to cut and sticker to cedar for a couple weeks in the dry. I've found the cedar to dry super fast especially when cut 3/4" or less. And again, it's a treehouse. A little gap here and there is called "character"

Thanks all!

Den-Den