iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Logging with a 50cc pro saw?

Started by gman98, July 01, 2017, 09:18:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gman98

How many of you guys regularly log with a pro series 50cc saw?  I'm looking to add another saw to my collection.  I don't really care for heavy saws as I find them to be fatiguing to run all day, especially limbing.  I figured a 50cc saw may fit my bill for cutting mostly popple and softwood.  What are your thoughts?

Thanks
Forest technician and part time equipment operator.  Looking to get set up with some logging equipment of my own.

John Mc

I'm not a pro logger, and I don't do much in softwoods, but for limbing and working in smaller hardwoods I use a 50cc with a 16" bar saw quite a bit. It just doesn't make a lot of sense to me to lug around a larger saw all day when there is no need for one.
If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.   - Abraham Maslow

Ianab

Size of the trees?

Locally "softwood" will be 3+ ft dia so the local loggers are completely justified lugging around 80-90cc saws.  But the guys doing pre-commercial thinning, and just dropping 6-12" pines to waste will usually use a smaller lighter saw because it's easier to hump up and down the hills all day.
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

DelawhereJoe

I think if you run a 50cc saw thats not ported, your production will probably suffer. Generally a 20" bar is the largest you can run on the 50cc frame due to the oilers output, that should give you the ability to fell a tree 2 -2.5x the size of your bar. If just cutting firewood like me then time is on your side, but doing it for a living where time  and trees are money then it might not be worthwhile.
WD-40, DUCT TAPE, 024, 026, 362c-m, 041, homelite xl, JD 2510

John Mc

Quote from: DelawhereJoe on July 02, 2017, 09:16:47 AM