iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Your life stories

Started by florida, May 23, 2017, 07:54:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

florida

The thing I love most about this forum is the wisdom and down to earth attitudes.  I say this in all honesty, in my opinion it's guys like you all who are the bedrock of our country. When things get bad nobody is going to be calling the lawyer or salesman  down the street to put things back together. Value will be in  people who can do things, put stuff together and make things work. Most of you have been doing it all your lives so you don't give it a thought but like a bee hive the combined knowledge and life experiences here are encyclopedic.

All this to say I wish any and all of you would start writing down some of your experiences and life stories.  I've been doing it for 10 or 12 years and have about 250 pages written so far with no end in sight. Lots of it may never be of any interest to anyone but me but it's fun to put my memories to paper. You all have a lot to share, lots of stuff you've learned over the years that could disappear  once you're gone. Many of you have grown up in circumstances that makes you look like a pioneer in the eyes of younger people.

Most of us aren't writers but it's the content that counts, not the grammar. if you already have a story please post it and if not please try one. It doesn't have to be long to be interesting.
General contractor and carpenter for 50 years.
Retired now!

WV Sawmiller

I heartily agree.

I have a 98 y/o old neighbor who is probably the last surviving WWII veteran in our county. He is active, still drives and works around the farm and his mind is clear. We have told his granddaughter she needs to records his tales for posterity.