iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Red pine vs. white pine for TF project??

Started by woodworker9, May 20, 2017, 01:10:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodworker9

I have recently been contacted by a person who has a stand of about 50 red pines and white pines in the 15" to 20" diameter range. 

I am presently starting to cut timber frame members for 2 upcoming builds.....1st- to build a Sobon shed for wood and equipment storage.  This build is considered practice for me leading into the 2nd build, which will be an additional workshop on my property.  I need to separate my woodshop from my metalworking shop.  Oil and sawdust make extremely poor roommates.

My question is, having ZERO knowledge of red pine.....

Is it a good species to use for the timbers of a timber frame structure, assuming correct sizing?  I have no knowledge of it's working characteristics, if it has problems in use, etc......

I am going to help this farmer fell these tree's in exchange for the logs.  They are all along a fence row and access is good and easy, and he has a loader for moving the logs and pushing the waste into a burn pile.  For me, around here, with ZERO logger presence to get logs for my projects, the idea of getting 50 decent sized logs that I can cut posts, braces, rafters, etc.... as well as 2X6 floor, wall, and ceiling T&G lumber for is a well appreciated resource.  I have had poor (at best) luck finding sources for logs around here in Northern Illinois.  It seems to be the dead zone for log availability.

Your experience with red pine and the likelihood of me liking it as a species for these projects is well appreciated.

Jeff
03' LT40HD25 Kohler hydraulic w/ accuset
MS 441, MS 290, New Holland L185

Brian_Weekley