iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Board Feet Per Meter

Started by Bigshooter, March 22, 2017, 04:58:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bigshooter

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to this forum and have been milling on my Timberwolf mill now for just over a year. I'm located on Vancouver Island one of the most beautiful places around. I was looking for information on estimating how many board feet of wood can be sawn out of a cubic meter?
I have a job coming up and its based on me buying the logs then running them through the mill. So I'm curious how do I determine the amount boards I will get? Say a logging truck load, how many board feet in a load? I did find a calculation online but would like to hear your guys opinions.

tacks Y

I was getting 3500+ per tri axle load to be sawed by the Amish. Nice logs tho. I sold some hemlock to a guy said he would buy down to 8" he found out quickly trucking was to much for the yield. Size matters.

Bigshooter

A smaller tri axle like a bumper tow for a pickup not a logging truck?

tacks Y

This was a full size truck here in Pa, they haul 23' pole wood. He ran 3.5K to 4K board feet a load, this was also cut on a circle mill. So more waste, but good logs. I was cutting the biggest off my property for my house.   

longtime lurker

ummm - depends on the logs. More importantly it depends on the size of the logs and how much defect is considered acceptable in a log.

Cubic meters is an unscaled measure of volume okay. So mid point diameter by girth tape (or circumference divided by pi) , divided by two, square that, multiply by pi, multiply by length= volume in cubic meters

A 2.4m (8') log with a diameter of 720mm (28") is near enough a cube. It scales at around 288 Doyle.
A 3.6m (12') log with a diameter of 600mm (24") is near enough a cube. It scales at around 300 Doyle.
A 4.5 m (15') log with a diameter of 520mm (21") is near enough a cube. It scales at about 271 Doyle.