iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

90 or 180 degrees

Started by bulldozerjoe, April 02, 2022, 10:54:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bulldozerjoe

New to saw milling, bought a woodland mills hm130 with trailer. 16 foot cut... after I make that opening cut.. what's the best way to make the second cut... do I turn the log 90 degrees so that the opening cut is against the log stops or 180 so that the opening cut is on the bunks... cutting spruce now.. dimensional lumber... thanks
New holland tc 45
Fransguard 4000
Sthil 021-028super-029-066

Southside

Typically, and especially with framing lumber, I rotate 180 to keep the stress evened out in the soon to be cant.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

bulldozerjoe

Thank you, I'm new to milling... so much to take in... I put a ash log on the mill and that thing cut true... now I put spruce on it and the blade wanders when i hit a knot... that's my next problem to over come... but thank u
New holland tc 45
Fransguard 4000

Southside

Spruce knots are very hard, you want to have a sharp band on when sawing spruce.  What are you using for a band? FWIW my 55 HP diesel deflected today in Southern Yellow Pine knots with a .055, 1 3/4" band that was sharp.  Sometimes there is only so much you can do. 
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
White Oak Meadows

bulldozerjoe

I'm using what the saw came with, I've got 10 ripper 37..
New holland tc 45
Fransguard 4000

Southside

Might want to try a 4° band for Spruce. 
JD Processor
Riehl Edger
White Oak Meadows

bulldozerjoe

Jerry's recommended 7 degree, which I bought... I don't know what came with the mill... maybe I'll try the rippers.. couldn't hurt I've got them.. thank u for your reply's 
New holland tc 45