iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How small of walnut worth sawing?

Started by D6c, March 07, 2017, 05:49:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

D6c

Can't post pic from cell phone just yet, but I have about 25 free walnut trees ....
12-18".  How small of log / limb is worth milling?  Will post pics later.

ChugiakTinkerer

How much sapwood in those smaller limbs and logs?  I have no experience with walnut but isn't the sapwood scrap?
Woodland Mills HM130

Delawhere Jack

I mill a good bit of walnut. I'll down to about 10" if it is reasonably straight. I'll even mill short sections (4-5') of walnut and black cherry simply because the value of the wood makes the extra effort of securing small stuff on the mill worthwhile. Sapwood is a matter of taste. Some people want it, others don't.

esteadle

Sapwood in walnut is not necessarily scrap. There is a long history in woodworking of steaming walnut to force the sapwood to take on the color of the heartwood. See this article for example:

http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_base/Steaming_Walnut_for_Color.html

paul case

Quote from: ChugiakTinkerer on March 07, 2017, 06:15:32 PM
How much sapwood in those smaller limbs and logs?  I have no experience with walnut but isn't the sapwood scrap?
Careful them there is fightin words around here. The midget doc and I both like the contrast of sap and heart wood on walnut.

The grading rules allow for 6' fas only on black walnut.I would mill all of it I thought I could sell or use.

PC
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)
2013 LT40SHE25 and Riehl edger,  WM 94 LT40 hd E15. Cut my sawing ''teeth'' on an EZ Boardwalk
sawing oak.hickory,ERC,walnut and almost anything else that shows up.
Don't get phylosophical with me. you will loose me for sure.
pc

Treehack

Well, let's see...walnut... Free...don't see a downside here ;D.  I'd say mill the worst log first and see what you get.  If you get some usable stuff, it only gets better.
TK 1220, 100+ acres of timber, strong left arm.