iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member intro, looking for some information.

Started by Crusarius, March 01, 2017, 01:05:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crusarius

Hi, I am new member on this forum. Been reading it for a while finally decided to sign up. I live in Candice NY. I have delusions of grandeur on everything I do. I do steel fabrication and carpentry projects.

I have been in the house I am in for about 2.5 years. I purchased the house with 10 acres of woods but without a shop. I have decided I want to build a shop. I have a large area of pines that need to be removed to build the shop. This is where you guys come in :)

I have had lots of thoughts and ideas on how to remove the trees and build my shop. I think the one that is the most appealing to me is to buy a bandsaw mill and do all the work myself. Unfortunately, I have zero experience with sawmills.

I noticed there are a few members very close to me with mills. Would anybody mind if I come check out their sawmills and maybe pick your brains? be great if I could actually cut a few logs to. I am willing to travel anywhere.

I have been looking at Hud-Son mills and Woodmizer. I know the right answer is Woodmizer but that is a little out of my price range.

Just to be clear I am not sure if I will ever try to do this commercially. Right now it is more for me and my father.

Thanks for any help on this.

ChugiakTinkerer

Welcome to the forum!  I was in a similar situation and ended up buying a small manual mill.  You might give some thought to hiring the milling work out, if your focus is more on having a shed than on having a wonderful new tool.  But if you want to spend some time milling with your father, buying a mill sounds like the perfect thing to do.
Woodland Mills HM130

mattyo5