iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Frick 00 Sawmill with 56" saw

Started by wayback40, February 04, 2017, 10:46:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wayback40

I purchased a Frick 00 sawmill with a 56" saw back in November.  We set it up and ran it a couple times before putting it in the barn for the winter.  I ran it from a PTO pulley on a Ford 4000.  The pulley system runs a 7" belt that is 72' long (total length).  I ran ash logs through it from 10" to 23".  The smaller ones were no trouble.  I had to feed the 23" slower but it handled it.  I have read that 50 HP shouldn't be enough power.  I am wondering what others are running their saws with.  I am new to this and would like any information or opinions.

Wood-Mizer LT15

kb88

Looks like a nice mill. It all depends on how fast you want to feed it. Probably 150hp wouldn't be too much power. I run a 75hp electric on my 56" saw when i push it in hardwood i can trip the reset on it.

ozarkgem

Nice looking setup. I don't have a circle mill but 50 hp is probably a little short on power. There is a formula for the hp needs depending on blade size and no of teeth. Some one will post it I am sure. I think in the 100 hp range would give better results. If you post your location there may be a member close by that could lend you a hand. A video of the mill would be nice also. 
Mighty Mite Band Mill, Case Backhoe, 763 Bobcat, Ford 3400 w/FEL , 1962 Ford 4000, Int dump truck, Clark forklift, lots of trailers. Stihl 046 Magnum, 029 Stihl. complete machine shop to keep everything going.

bandmiller2