iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Im new to the thread. And...I have questions!

Started by coyotefur, January 06, 2017, 08:21:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

coyotefur

I have a logger starting on my property in a few weeks. I am cutting 16" and above trees on 145 acres. The logger thinks i will pocket around $500 an acre.

I'm also planning on putting an addition on my house of 1800-2000 sq.ft in the next year or so.

Would it be in my best interest to setup a mill on my property to help with the lumber cost of the home addition? I figure I would pay the logger his portion and keep the logs.

My other option is to sell the logs to the mill and buy lumber in a year or so for the home addition.

Its also important to note that the last house I had built, 15% of the total cost was the lumber package. And I paid $87.50 a sq.ft 5 years ago.

Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.   

Dustin
E.KY

1ruralmailman

it all depends on,if you can use your own lumber by code in your area or not.there are alot of places non graded lumber wont be allowed.you could still have trim lumber cut and used,but it still may make more sense to use proceeds to purchase what you need when the time comes.

coyotefur

Thanks for the reply. My last house was $87.50 a sq.ft. With my home addition of 1800-2000 sq ft. I'm looking at $157,500-$175,000 for the addition and 15% of that for the lumber, which would be $23,000 - $26,000.

I essentially have 23k-26k to to invest in a mill and pay the logger for his work. I wonder if it would pay for its self?

Dustin

Brad_bb

Where are you?  Hardwood or softwood?  Do you have a building to store the lumber while it dries?  Can you use your lumber or will you have a problem with your local code?