iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fence lines and tree rows

Started by rank, January 05, 2017, 07:18:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rank

Hello All. First post here.  I'm a farmer located in southern Ontario with approx 250 acres of woods and several miles of treed fence lines.  Some are mature oak, maple, ash, birch, cedar and probably hemlock along with others I can't identify.

I ran into a logger in the local coffee shop last summer and asked him what these trees were worth per board foot.  His response: "You guys are looking to log your fence lines?".  He kind of smiled and that was then end of the conversation.

Today I called a local mill.  Biggest one in the area and asked him what they would be worth if I logged them and put them by the roadside for pickup or even I trucked then to him.  His reply: "It's not worth your time.  Either let someone cut them for firewood or knock them over with an excavator and burn them."

Well, that just seems like a waste.

I am capable of felling these trees but don't want to waste my time for no added value either.  I have 4x4 tractors, chain saws, highway tractors licensed in Canada and the United States, flatbed trailers, excavator and I even have a neighbor with a sawmill.

What is the real story?

Wis Forester

My guess as a forester is that the loggers and mills are shying away from your project because of the "fence lines" themselves.

Need to realize that although there may be large trees on the fence line, it is highly likely that there are also a good amount of nails, fencing, and probably ceramic fence insulators on or grown within the trees.  These items cause major damage to logging equipment and logging saws.  If they get to a sawmill and are not caught by the metal detector, they also can cause thousands of dollars of damage and down time in the mill. They can also cause damage at chippers and pulpwood mills.