iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cleaning wood before finishing

Started by addysdaddy, December 01, 2016, 02:09:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

addysdaddy

Gents. I'm about to start finishing some live edge birch slabs for bench seats for the table at the hunting camp. Im planning to use either Teak or Tongue oil. Whats the best way/stuff to clean away the sanding dust etc prior to oiling and does anyone have an oiling for dummies cheat sheet. I've swabbed on varathane with a brush but am new to oil finishes. Any advice appreciated.
Trying to think of something Cool to say kinda defeats the purpose.
LT10
Kioti with winch.
Husqvarna fan

Bruno of NH

Clean wood works good if you can find it and can stand the smell
Lt 40 wide with 38hp gas and command controls , F350 4x4 dump and lot of contracting tools

robmelby

You can use a tack cloth to clean the sawdust off prior to oiling. Some people use a air compressor and blow the wood clean. I'm no expert on oiling. Put on as many coats of tung oil as needed to achieve the finish you want. I like to rub it with steel wool in between coats after it's dry. Good luck!

WDH

A little bit of sanding dust does not hurt if you are using tung oil.  You flood the piece with the oil, let it sit and soak in per directions, then simply wipe if ALL off with a soft rag or shop towel.  The oil soaks into and penetrates the wood.  The sanding dust just stays on top and is removed when you wipe off ALL the oil. 

The key is to wipe off ALL the oil.  You can let the oil sit on the wood for the amount of time per the directions, the rub the wood vigorously with the steel wool.  The steel wool will produce some fine dust that is in a slurry with the oil, and the slurry really seals up all the pores in the wood giving you a glass smooth surface.  Do not use steel wool on oak, though, as the tannins in the oak react with the steel wool and it will turn the wood black.  You have to use fine sandpaper to create the oil and dust slurry in oak.