iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

drop and dry or drop and mill?

Started by ray299, October 27, 2016, 01:08:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ray299

I'm interested in getting into post and beam construction and have a question about when to build. I've been reading both ways... drop your logs and let them dry before you saw them into timbers to be used for building to reduce the amount of shrinkage... but I've also heard if you mill them green, it's easier to mill (which I know that to be true) but also with that I've heard you should build green too so when it does dry and twist and turn, the structure is together and will all work together twisting and turning... so... timber framing... let my logs sit or mill them and build quick?

bkaimwood

I have little to no timber frame experience, but... leaving logs lay to dry works for OWB firewood applications, but not for lumber. A log will rot away to nothing long before it ever shows significant "drying"...along with significantly increased insect infestations before you've even made beams...coupled with increased, if not certain bacterial infections, which cause further degrade risks in final drying...
so I say, drop and mill!!! But oversized, for resaw after some dry time...
bk

ray299

Quote from: bkaimwood on October 27, 2016, 07:21:17 PM
I have little to no timber frame experience, but... leaving logs lay to dry works for OWB firewood applications, but not for lumber. A log will rot away to nothing long before it ever shows significant "drying"...along with significantly increased insect infestations before you've even made beams...coupled with increased, if not certain bacterial infections, which cause further degrade risks in final drying...
so I say, drop and mill!!! But oversized, for resaw after some dry time...