iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Well guys i am stumped

Started by furltech, October 19, 2016, 04:05:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

furltech

I got a john deere 440c and the brake cylinder that runs the brake band for the winch decided to self destruct .soaking everything in oil, so new clutch disks .and had the brake relined. And for the life of me i can not adjust it up to get it to hold.It used to hold like crazy .When i run my hand over the drum i can feel grooves that the old band made and i am wondering if the new band just does not have enough surface area to hold .It is close but just not there. i dont know if i am missing something or not .I wonder if taking the drum off and turning it on the lathe a little,would help .I have washed it down multiple times with brake cleaner so i know it has no oil on it .

BargeMonkey

I'm no pro on a 3325, wish I was home i would email you the books I've got. The factory measurement band / cylinders travel is 4-11/16, measure from the center of both pins, sometimes you need to pull on a new lined band a little to get it to seat in but that's the # to get you close. Adjusted alot either way from there and it either won't release or won't hold. What shape are your springs in ? If you have no luck let me know and I can figure a way to send you copies of the books, I have a complete 440C machine manual that has the winch section in it.

AlexHart

Is that the same winch as on a 440D model?   

I have never had mine apart or anything as its never done anything but work.   But I may also have some manuals that cover that (not sure).