iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A Formal Hello/Best Way to Proceed Down the Slope?

Started by Glenn Ohman, October 18, 2016, 01:49:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenn Ohman

Hi Everyone,

My name is Glenn and currently I am a college student at a small school in NE Illinois. My woodworking interest started in high school wood shop, building bass guitars. In between high school and college I have worked in a few woodshops, which in turn, honed my skills as a woodworker. Now I primarily build acoustic guitars. If the price is right, I build furniture on occasion for customers.

The sawmilling bug bit me last summer when I helped out a local NGO convert 22 red oak logs into lumber within a course of a 12 hour day.  The logs were I bi-product of a restoration thinning in a ravine they recently became the stewards of.  Put simply, it was a blast.

Since then I have been absorbing information on sawmilling, including visiting an outfit I wrote about in a paper that practices nature-based forestry – what a learning experience!

For me, I really want to get into sawmilling to better utilize trees that would otherwise be chipped, turned into firewood or be dumped in the nearest vacant lot. I can't tell you how many logs I have had to pass on in the last 6 months because I did not have the equipment to convert them into lumber. Around here, nobody makes things, let alone mills lumber – free logs are real easy to come by.

In addition, I see sawmilling and other value adding process as a way to fund restoration work. I can't stand the sorry shape most of our postage stamp size forests are in. The time is now for me to be the change I want to see.

As a woodworker, it will open up the doors to using commercially unavailable species and cuts. Quarter-sawn sugar maple, in particular, is something I want to use for my acoustic guitars.