iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

CSM, saw size and bar size output per hour?

Started by DirtKrazy, September 30, 2016, 10:41:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DirtKrazy

So I am very new to CSM.
I literally just cut my first 30 bf today.
I have always loved going out and cutting firewood. I also enjoy building wood projects at home. I hate the price mostly the quality of wood at the stores.
So here I am learning the ropes. My idea is to learn with CSM then move up to BSM we have property and one day hope to move to it and build our home using only the wood we mill.
So I always here people saying they get faster cutting with bigger saws and ripping chain. What I would like to know is,
what your using for saw and chain? If you went for 1 hr how far could you get?remember I am interested in quality not quantity.
Just wondering what to expect from diffrent setups on CSM's?
Thanks keep cutting! 8)
Cut WOOD! What more needs to be said!

tnaz

Can't help with the question but, welcome to the Forestry Forum.  Always good help/answers here.

Good luck,

Terry

Ox

It's been many years since I used a CSM but I think I was able to get around 6 - 2x6x14 boards in an hour or so.  This was using a Stihl 034 Super AV with a 28" bar and ripping chain.  I remember thinking I used a lot of gas/oil when milling.  I would not want to build a house using a CSM.  It was loud, slow, hard, dusty work and used up a chainsaw quick.  It made perfect lumber when allowed to scream and produce powder sawdust.  When pushed harder and allowed to work the engine and actually produce very small chips for sawdust it would leave big ridges and marks in the lumber.  I hated it and got a bandmill ASAP.
K.I.S.S. - Keep It Simple Stupid
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without
1989 GMC 3500 4x4 diesel dump and plow truck, 1964 Oliver 1600 Industrial with Parsons loader and backhoe, 1986 Zetor 5211, Cat's Claw sharpener, single tooth setter, homemade Linn Lumber 1900 style mill, old tools