iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking to buy a used mill.

Started by Florida boy, September 29, 2016, 01:23:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Florida boy

Hi everyone, I've been reading this forum for a while now in hopes to learn about portable sawmills. I live in northwest Florida near panama city.
    About a year ago someone offered me some cypress logs if I came an got them. Being a hobby woodworker I jumped on it thinking that I could get the logs sawn up. Well talking to my Dad at the time and he said why don't we get a sawmill, he always had a dream of having one. So we started looking into it and finding other "free" logs. We looked at plenty of mills and Cooks caught our eye. Being they are made less than an hour from us and look to be a quality machine we set our hearts on a Cooks.
   Well while we were in the process of saving and collecting logs, my Father/best friend pasted away suddenly back in February. He had health problems but i never thought he would be gone so fast, figured I had some more years with him.
   Well now I'm on my own with the dream we had together if buying a mill, doing woodworking and eventually building a timberframe off our own timber and with our own hands. I am very determined to do this for myself and the memory of my father.
   Now on to the question/discussion. I have found a used Cooks sawmill with all the features we wanted for sale within minutes of my house. The owner runs a woodworking business and uses the mill all the time. So it should be in fine working order. Without the guidance of my Dad I really don't know what to offer or what a fair price maybe.
   The mill is setup stationary but he has axle in the shop. Cuts 22' logs by 32" diameter. No hydraulics all manual mp32. I'm going out tomorrow to look at it more closely and possibly make an offer or see what he wants. What are things to look for when buying used? He says I can cut logs all day if I want to to see how well it works.