iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What causes blade to dive?

Started by ccb, July 23, 2016, 08:06:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ccb

Blade started to dive with the fourth cut.  Cutting 21" red oak. The first 2-3" of the log, the blade dives, and then straightens out for the remaining 8' of log. Blade tension is good. Lubing new blade. Premium wood/no knots. What is causing this?

godzilla

I'm new to milling, been at it less than one year. With that said, I have had this happen when a blade starts to get dull, and I try to get just one more board out of it. I usually dull them with dirt I did not see(skid everything old school with tractors), and I go thru a tough spot such as knot, change in direction etc. I have read the explanation on here that as the blade dulls, it requires more force to get thru the cut and causes blade deflection. Just what i have read/experienced so far, hope that helps.
"Smell of sawdust stirs my blood"

tnaz

Welcome to the forum CCB; wish I could help but I can't.  Looks like a new mill, throw a little more info up like year and size of mill and someone will be helping shortly.

Good luck,

Terry

ccb

2016 mill. LT50. New sawyer. Can't believe blade would be dull after 4 passes, even though this is select oak.

tnaz

From what I've read, new blade can be bad out of the box?  Did you try a new blade?

Kbeitz

If it happens when you first enter the cut then I would say its a speed change.
It take a sec. for the gov. to stabilize the RPM. So the engine speed drops
until the gov. kicks in to get the speed up to running RPM.
Try entering slower so you engine has time to catch up.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

derhntr

Entry speed in the log can cause that to happen, mine will do that
2006 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 with command control (I hate walking in sawdust)
US Army National Guard (RET) SFC

Magicman