iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I have some walnut to saw????

Started by hbeane, July 14, 2016, 06:12:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hbeane

My uncle gave me a big walnut tree that blew down in his yard from a recent storm.  I am new to sawing and only have milled some poplar and pine. Anything I should know about milling walnut?
Woodmizer LT15
1949 John Deere M
025 Stihl
250 Stihl
290 FarmBoss Still
C400 Echo
Honda 300 Fourtrax

warren46

I have not sawn a lot of walnut but in my limited experience it is easy to mill.  The only complication I have found is if there is a large knot or crotch.  These can be hard and require a slower feed.

Walnut is usually flat sawn to show the cathedral grain on wide boards.  It is not usually quarter sawn or rift sawn as these boards to not have as interesting grain in my opinion.

Boards containing the pith or heart of the tree will almost always split.  It is best to edge the pith off of boards that are through the center of the log.
Warren E. Johnson
Timber Harvester 36HTE25, John Deere 300b backhoe/loader.

bluthum

Yard trees are always more likely to contain metal and such so it pays to be more alert in that respect as well.

WV Sawmiller

hbeane,

Walnut I have sawed has been easy to saw. If cutting hard crotches and such I use a 4 degree blade from the start although a sharp blade and slower feed should usually get you through it.

If the tree has not already been bucked into logs be sure to have plenty of end sealer (Anchorseal or ?) ready and seal them as soon as they are bucked. If already cut get them sealed as soon as possible. Walnut is not as bad to check IMO as ash or cherry but it will check pretty easily and too high value wood to lose any that could have been easily prevented

Good luck. I think you will enjoy it.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL