iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood Boiler Pump Questions - Taco 009?

Started by LegendsCreekFarm, July 01, 2016, 04:42:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LegendsCreekFarm

Hey everyone.  I am just beginning my plumbing install for my Central Boiler and I had a few quick questions about which pump to choose.

I ran 1" thermopex from my boiler, through my shop, down into the ground on the other side of the shop and then across to my house basement. The guy at the boiler dealer said they sell ONLY Taco 009's for circulating the water  from the boiler to the building.

I read before about calculating head to find out which pump you need, but the dealer said that is complete overkill. I am going to be running 3 different buildings to my boiler and I would rather get the same pump for each building.

Is there a standard pump that moves a lot of GPM?   Is the 009 good for this even with a long run or can I spend more and get a better pump that will work in most situations?

Also, I am choosing to install the pumps in the buildings rather than on the boiler and was wondering if the pump should be on the boiler supply or return in my basements?

Thanks a lot!

Gearbox

how many feet of pex total ? how many elbows ? how much do you have to lift above water leval of the boiler ?  Lift is only for start up but you may have trouble getting started . answer these questions and someone will help you .
A bunch of chainsaws a BT6870 processer , TC 5 International track skidder and not near enough time

r.man

Pump should be on the line coming from the OWB. (supply) I have mine in a basement that is lower than my OWB so I never have a priming problem. My friend had his on the main floor, no basement, which was higher than his OWB and he had terrible priming problems until he shifted it to the back of the OWB. Not sure about pump sizes, every system I know is so simple anything will work.
Life is too short or my list is too long, not sure which. Dec 2014

LegendsCreekFarm