iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Perplexed Newbie

Started by GareyD, November 06, 2004, 07:43:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GareyD

Hello to everyone.

I'm a newbie to the board and have read all the posts back to page 100 of I believe 132 pages and still haven't found the answer to my question.

Filled out my profile...but...a little more history.  The only sawing I have done or been around was when I helped my Grandfather/Uncle about 35 years with their old Belsaw...and...when I hired a sawyer with a WM about 5 years ago (He rode the seat, I did the off loading/stacking)...so I can't say that I am very knowledgable.

I'm wanting to do the usual...clear about 6 acres to enlarge my pasture, and saw the timber into lumber for a barn and outbuildings. Plus I have 4 neighbors that are wanting me to do the same for them...already have work and I just mentioned I was thinking about getting a mill!!!

Now for the question...not knowing what I really need, I have pretty much narrowed my search down to 2 saws I have found locally that are within my price range of less than $10,000 and have the features I think I'll need.

My problem is one is a bandmilll and the other is a double cut...how do I ask which one everyone would reccomend for my needs with out starting WW1,000,003...

Should I ask in two seperate posts...or should I just throw it out in a reply to this post and duck??? ???

Ya'll seem like a great bunch of people...hope I don't start out here on the wrong foot  :o

GareyD
The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best friends, if they're okay, then it's you.

chet

No wars here. We are a pretty mild bunch, unless yur talkin' food. ;D
GareyD, the best thing would be to see if the mills you are looking at, are being run. Then just offer to be some free help for a couple of days. OH and Welcome aboard.  :)