iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Size matters, how big can my LT40 Hydraulic lift?

Started by Scott Sawdust, May 26, 2016, 01:32:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott Sawdust

Hey all, I am new to this business. Just got a 40" dia x 10' ash log here, can my LT40 lift it up for cutting? Looks pretty big compared to the other stuff I have been cutting.
You're sure there are no nails in this log? Trust, but verify.

KirkD

The weight Calc in the toolbox says between 4,100 and 4,500 depending on what type of ash it is. We will have to let the experts on the LT40 weigh in on lift capacity.
Wood-mizer LT40HD-G24 Year 1989

derhntr

I have done 42" 14' white pine that I had to cut groove with chain saw to fit guides. and 36" 12' Red and White oaks. Had to use 2 helpers with cant hooks to keep log from rolling off log lift. But picked them up ok.
2006 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 with command control (I hate walking in sawdust)
US Army National Guard (RET) SFC

OlJarhead

2016 LT40HD26 and Mahindra 5010 W/FEL WM Hundred Thousand BF Club Member

derhntr

Magicman

Sure you can manage to get it up on the sawmill, but then what do you do?  You had better load the butt end to the front so that you can see where your blade guides will be.  You will have to roll it to the left to gain throat space.

Be very careful because you do not want to loose that log over the side.

Turning the log will be a major effort.  It takes time and can be done if your sawmill has a two plane clamp and you can use the turner and clamp together to lift and shift the log.  If it does not, you will probably have to rely on a front end loader or something.

Now that you have your mouth full and the sawmill overloaded, the blade will still only raise to 36" above the bed.  That first cut will be taking a whopping 4" off.  You will then have to turn it 1/8th and take another nibble.