iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Experimenting with a Combination of Timber, Window Wall & SIPs

Started by tjcaine, May 04, 2016, 10:00:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tjcaine

Greetings all,

My name is Tyler and I am an architect living and working in New York City. I recently started my own practice and one of the "pet" projects I've been working on in the off time is a theoretical house design that is experimenting with timber and SIPs. It is this project that brings me here today with the hope that the wealth of knowledge and experience in this forum can help make sure I'm not too far off the beaten path of reality in some of my assumptions.

Full disclosure, the vast majority of my design work has been in urban areas, so while I worked in construction for a while and love building things, I have no timber framing experience!

So the project... The goal of this design exercise was to design a house that is small and flexible in its use in the sense that parts of it could be powered down when not in use. Ultimately, the house could hopefully be resource neutral with a tight envelope, geothermal heating and cooling, and solar for hot water and power.

Enter the house. The house works off of a series of frames that could be erected on site to support walls and floors of SIPs panels. A fair amount of the exterior also includes high-performance window wall. As you will see from some of the diagrams, it is not a typical timber frame per se, but uses a primary and secondary frame system that are each a kit-of-parts. Overall, the design is still in what I would call the beginning of the Design Development [DD] phase and includes no formal review by an engineer (since I am the acting client).