iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

International TC5 or here we go again

Started by svart ole, May 03, 2016, 04:01:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

svart ole

Got to talking with my brother and asked if he was ready to get rid of his TC5. His response was well, I don't need two of them. You have two now...........end result was some horse trading and I have to go get this later today.

Need to clean the tags and figure out just when this one was made. Rumor has it that International in Canada built about 800 of them in the early to mid 60's. The base machine is a IH 500 crawler. This one is gas the he kept the diesel. Here we go again off on another adventure.

My wife said I collect junk, I told her I am a amateur industrial archaeologist just trying to save valuable artifacts.

Logger RK

I sure wish I could've bought my neighbors before he took the cutting torch to it. He logged once in awhile with me with it starting in the 70's. It was real good in soft ground. Unfrozen spruce swamps around these parts. He'd go through getting them to freeze down.

svart ole

That is what they where designed for. Deep snow or soft ground. Places where there was spruce or tamarack or just plain low ground. I have looked for one for years. I remember when they first started showing up when I was a kid just knew I had to have one. All things in due time I guess. You do know you could buy the Oliver OC-4 with a winch and just about the same track system. They where popular in Sweden and the track used on the TC5 was made there.

Over the years I have seen way too much good equipment cut up for a few dollars. Or it was a eye sore to someone. It is sad that we place very little value on our industrial heritage but will spend hours trying to figure out the meaning of a scrap of canvas hanging on a wall that someones dog barfed paint on.
My wife said I collect junk, I told her I am a amateur industrial archaeologist just trying to save valuable artifacts.

Logger RK