iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

when is the winter logging time?

Started by forester85, April 05, 2016, 01:06:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

forester85

Hi,
I am a grad student and studying about logging activities during winter season. I was wondering when the winter logging starts and ends especially in Canada. Based on that i try to predict logging cost per m3 now and in 50 years because winter is getting shorter. so I need when logging starts (I am assuming mid or end of the november till march) and how long is the spring break. Thanks

grassfed

As a general, rule here in far NE Vermont, I would say Last week in December to the second week in March. This is for working wet, poorly drained, land that generally cannot be worked in the summer unless there is a drought. This date can vary a month on either side but generally I try to start packing skid trails right after Christmas. Summer logging starts around June 1st and that is on drier to avg. ground but that can very from late March on a very dry year late July + or never on a wet year.
Mike

starmac

It varies with the weather, and also the particular location here. One place I haul can typically start in october, possibly even september, while another has to have enough snow to build a road with and cold enough to make the ice bridges, so usually december, they generally go away close to the same time when weather warms.in the spring.
Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

RHP Logging

From when it gets cold to when it stops being cold. Could be mid-Nov here in SE WI. Could be new years.  I've ran on frost in the ground til mid April here. This year winter ended the first week of march. Depends on a lot.  Break up is even harder to gauge.  Almost no snow this year and no frost should have meant quick dry time, but it keeps raining.  Usually by May warm season logging begins in the hills.
Buckin in the woods

Spartan

Quote from: forester85 on April 05, 2016, 01:06:41 PM