iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First log truck questions. Does anybody run removable bunks on a semi tractor?

Started by M8274, April 04, 2016, 04:36:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

M8274

Just a bit of background; I'm a farmer and have started doing a small amount of timber harvest work in the winter. This is done outside of my full-time job.

I currently skid with a 75hp loader tractor and a homemade winch plate. Haul with my pickup and trailer. Select harvesting Appalachian hardwoods; mills are about 45 miles away down state highways.

Within the next year I hope to purchase a small skidder (JD 440B preferably), and that will require some changes to my current equipment lineup. My trailer (a 20k pound GVWR Eager Beaver pintle), can handle the skidder, but my 1970's gasser pickup lacks the power or brakes to haul it.

I have been considering a road tractor for a while. A 28' dump trailer can be bought around $10k or $12k, and would let me haul grain, bulk fertilizer, lime, gypsum, crushed stone, etc for the farm. Currently hire all that done and it is getting old. Lots of other uses around the farm too; pulling a heavy implement down the road long distances, etc. Semi truck adds a ton of versatility all around.

My plan is to use the truck pulling a dump trailer in the summer and fall, then put a pair of log bunks on the truck to haul timber in the winter. Local welding shop can add a heavy pintle hitch on the rear that would let me pull my skidder trailer. I have seen road tractors set up with bunks, but am curious if anybody on here has used this setup. I do not want to mess with a log trailer; I don't cut enough timber and I usually harvest in very tight places where a long trailer will not go.

Thinking a Ford LTL9000 or Mack R600. Tandem axle and relatively affordable. Driven both; nothing to really complain about. $8,000 to $10,000 could buy a very nice one in this area.