iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need help with elect. ign. install on 028WB Stihl

Started by doc47, February 04, 2016, 09:01:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doc47

Newbie here!
I replaced the mechanical points on my trusty old 028WB with one of those newfangled electronic ignition chips. I tried to figure it out from the pathetic little drawing supplied with the unit, but I obviously wired it wrong. The machine starts and runs but I've somehow bypassed the throttle. It runs flat-out full-speed.
Not quite what I wanted!  :o
can someone advise me on how to correct the wiring job? I can supply photos if necessary.
Help West Africa Medicine & Education to aid clinics and students in West Africa. Follow us on Facebook or see www.westafricamedicine.org

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

Maybe the mechanical linkage to the throttle isn't hooked up?  Just a guess.

Would be interested to hear more about your motivation behind the electronic ignition chip, and what is to be gained.

Good pic or two would be great.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Remle

If it runs it is hooked up right, you either have it interfering with the throttle linkage or the throttle linkage has fallen apart.  Where did you locate it on the saw? I put it under the side cover with the coil.

doc47

Thanks for the replies. I mounted it under the left side cover.
Reason for doing it was that the old unit conked out and everything I saw on the internet seemed to point toward electronics rather than mechanical points. Seeing as that seems to be the wave of the present -- every other machine I own has electronic ignition -- it seemed a logical install.
Perhaps you have a different opinion. If so, I'm listening.
Please do note that I live in West Africa; Senegal, to be exact. I did the install when I was living in Miss. last year and had another saw for backup. I'd like to get this one sorted out properly.