iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sharpening a ripping chain

Started by jopoff1981, January 29, 2016, 09:05:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jopoff1981

Thanks in advance I am new to chainsaw milling in fact just ordered a 42 inch bar for my 044 and a full skip chain to go with it. I have heard to sharpen to a 10 degree angle. I would like to know why and could I go closer to 20 or even leave it at 30 I want to use it for crosscut too. I am not going to be using it very much but I sold my bandmill but still want to cut slabs. I have bell-saw for lumber.

sawguy21

The standard will rip but not leave a smooth finish like the dedicated chain. If you like the look or have a planer it won't matter.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Al_Smith

jopoff1981

I know it will be fairly slow but can't afford a new saw right now. If I use it much I will move up. Gotta use what you got

DonnerParty

A lower top-plate angle will give a smoother finish, as the cutters don't pull sideways quite as hard, leaving a smoother and narrower kerf. I like Stihl chains, and they don't make factory ripping chains anymore. I always start with stock 30 degree factory angles, then slowly adjust the top plate angle down each time I sharpen, to maximize cutter life. Works fine, and i end up ripping with 30 degree top plates all the time. Most people like 10-15, some even go down to 0 (square), but I've found that it's better to have some amount of positive angle, and 10 or 15 or so works pretty good.

The Husqvarna roller-guide sharpener works really well for ripping chain. I find it easier to file to 15 degrees or so with it than to 30, even though that's what it's designed for. It also offers a progressive depth-gauge depth filing plate, which will keep your chain cutting much better as the cutter wears (compared to fixed-depth depth gauge filing plates).