iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Power source, pulleys, ratios, rpm, etc......

Started by joegeds, January 20, 2016, 09:30:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joegeds

I'm just beginning to think about the process of building a sawmill.  Obviously, the first item to consider is the power.  I'm wondering what HP (or cc) engine is optimal?  What is the lowest HP one could use?  Also, I have seen some of the homemade mills on here with two pulleys (one on the engine, one on the bandsaw wheel), and I have seen several with 3 different sized pulleys changing the ratio and rpm.  What is the optimal set-up?  Do some guys use 3 pulleys because they don't have the correct size lying around?  It seems to me that two would be best.  Any help would be great.  TIA
Ghosts crowd the young childs' fragile, egg shell mind........

dustyhat

I have three sets of double pulleys , but would like only two . just the way my configuration worked out. motor size just depends on what you want to do. i have seen them with eight hp. and up. you will always want more no matter what you put on.

Brucer

Key points:

-You only want to power the drive wheel that is pulling the blade through the cut.
-You will want your blade to travel at about 5000 feet per minute (no less) to ensure that the blade won't wander in the cut.
-You will want your engine running at the speed that provides the maximum torque.
-More torque is better. That means (in order of preference) electric, diesel, and gas.
-Remember, the more torque you have to deal with, the bigger your drive components will have to be.
-I know a couple of guys with 12 HP gas mills and they cut nice lumber, but not as fast as my 28 HP gas engine. The guys with 35 - 60 HP diesels cut way faster than I do.
Bruce    LT40HDG28 bandsaw
"Complex problems have simple, easy to understand wrong answers."

schmism

here are some recommendations from cooks