iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Major issue with my woodmizer sharpener!

Started by MuklukAnnie, January 15, 2016, 02:20:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MuklukAnnie

So i have been sharpening blades for a local mill for the last 4 years now and I have never had issues like I am right now.

I am grinding any where from 50 - 80 blades a month and now all of a sudden when the grinder is operating it is making this huge snapping sound like it is snapping off teeth even though it isn't. Honestly when it happens it scares the hell out of me and basically I am almost hitting the floor.

So what I have tried to fix this issue is reset all off my settings and start again by gradually lowering the wheel down towards the blade. It seems fine for a few teeth then it is hitting some teeth not hitting other teeth then bam the snapping from hell then really hard grinding on the next teeth right after. I can't really say that I have witnessed what it is doing as I am not going to have the guard up to watch it up close and personal as now I can honestly say I don't trust it.

I am at a loss. My new best friend "Gary" from Wood Mizer has never heard of anything like this either. Even the head office doesn't have a clue.

Any ideas or thoughts would sure be appreciated. also any thought on the Timberking sharpener would be appreciated.

Cheers!
Mukluk Annie

LeeB