iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

MS 261 DP muffler

Started by George Zarifis, January 01, 2016, 05:09:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

George Zarifis

I'm thinking of modifying the muffler of my ms261 in some way and I saw that stihl as well as a bunch as other companies make dual port aftermarket mufflers for various models. However I could not find one for the 261. Does anyone know where I can get one? I would appreciate if someone could enlighten me on the subject, as I'm very new to chainsaws. Also, does anyone know when the MS880 was first released to the market. I just couldn't find any information by googling it... ???
:new_year:
Every man's proble can be solved with a chansaw and high explosives. And a gun. And maybe a screwdriver. A cordless drill wouldn't hurt either.

I think a truck full of tools will do...

nitehawk55

You have to do a muffler mod on the MS 261 yourself and if you google it you should find lots of DIY info .
The 880 was basically the 088 with a few changes . Stihl made most model changes from the old numbering system to the MS XXX in 2001 so an MS 880 will be 2001 or newer .
I AM NOT BRAND LOYAL !

George Zarifis

Thanks for the info. As for the muffler mod I think I'll just wait until the guarantee no longer applies. That's of course unless Stihl decides to make a DP muffler for my saw.
Every man's proble can be solved with a chansaw and high explosives. And a gun. And maybe a screwdriver. A cordless drill wouldn't hurt either.

CR888

I would open up the existing outlet a little and retain the baffle inside and spark arrestor mesh. I would not advise the 'louver' style opening on the other side as it directs exhaust at your arms and near your face when you turn the saw on its side. IMO very easily you can end up with a really loud saw if your not careful that does not make more power than a modest increase. But I am in the minority camp on this one, and don't like overly loud saws.

George Zarifis