iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

sawing shaggy bark hickory

Started by whittle1, January 01, 2016, 11:00:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

whittle1

So I'm totally new to sawmilling even though I worked as a millwright for years in a sawmill. I just bought a
LT 40 mill and stripped it down to refurbish and paint just about ready to saw my first logs. Pine logs I cleared to put a road in, I have a pretty good idea on how to go about that. Now to the point of the subject my Dad has several shaggy bark hickory's on his place I would like to cut for flooring and cabinets. I have ordered 4 degree blades from woodmizer for this. Would appreciate any info on how to saw these up.
Do I have the right blades selected? Should I quarter saw or plain saw? These are probably going to be pretty dry some are dead and standing, one and its hard to believe has been down for at least 8 years. I cut the end off and it still seems to be hard. What do you guys think?

dgdrls

Welcome to the FF Whittle1.

I would saw them flat no need to quarter them.
Search the board a bit on techniques to limit the
stress and movement in the Hickory as you saw it.

Some folks will tell u Hickory& Pecan are the  smiley_devil in tree form. :D

Happy New Year
Dan

WV Sawmiller

Whittle,

Welcome to FF and Happy New year. I suggest you update your profile so we can see more about where you live and equipment you have.

I cut some hickory several months ago that had been down a year. Largest log was about 30" at big end. I started with 7 degree blades but quickly had to change to 4 degree. That worked fine.

Whether your hickory has been down a while or fresh cut I don't think you will regret your decision to use 4 degree blades. Good luck and keep us posted.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL