iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

downed oak suitable for sawing

Started by jts, October 07, 2004, 02:38:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jts

Forum newbie here with limited experience but loads of interest. I have been lurking for several months and have learned much from you folks. I have a freind who owns some property with several nice oak logs ( both white and red) which were blown down last fall during Hurricane Isabell. Will these logs still be suitable for sawing?  The largest is a nice straight red oak which is 24" + dbh.  If the lumber would't be good for reselling he is considering just having it made into boards to put around a tractor shed he is building on the property.

I appreciate any replies.

I also have a couple of more questions but don't want to overload myself with answers right now!

Thanks

Fla._Deadheader

I would bet those logs would make fine boards. 1 year won't hurt them much, unless they are in direct contact with the ground(already trimmed and bucked). We saw just about anything. Can always burn it ;D ;D ;D

Welcome to the Forum 8)
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

Buzz-sawyer

Welcome
Shoot I have sawn OLD logs before...5-10 years fallen?? Any how the heart was EXACTLY as fresh as a newly cut tree , on yours there is maybe a tiny bit of punky wood one the very outer pith , it wil saw out fine ;)
    HEAR THAT BLADE SING!

sigidi

Welcome JTS,

Hope everyone has enuf answers for you, if not just remember the golden rule....

No I can't do to ya! :D ;D the golden rule was to be a funny comment, but I'll let you ease in before starting any jocularity.

Welcome
Always willing to help - Allan

jts