iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Husqvarna 66, anybody have one? any feedback?

Started by Emorris191145, November 25, 2015, 03:23:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Emorris191145

I am a noob here n have just purchased a Husqvarna 66, anybody have one? any feedback at all? So far I love it! cuts everything I throw at it n never bogs down. The only thing is, I cant find any service manuals or anything about it, I have found that the 266 is pretty much the same but how close is "pretty much"? Any input is greatly appreciated. BTW I got the saw for 250$ with a 20" bar n a VERY worn, chain which I'm picking up a new one tomorrow.

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

A short search on the Forum came up with some info on the 66 in this thread.
https://forestryforum.com/board/index.php?topic=5736.0
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

lumberjack48

The Husqvarna 66 came out in 1980

The Husqvarna 266 came out in 1981, the 66 and the 266 are both 66.7 cc [ 4.1 cu. in. ] I never did own a 66, but i bought about 10, 266's. Nice saw to run, balanced and lots of torque, makes for quick limbing saw. Very nice pulpwood saw and all the power you need to take 40 inch pine down.

Third generation logger, owner operator, 30 yrs felling experience with pole skidder. I got my neck broke back in 89, left me a quad. The wife kept the job going up to 96.

Dave Shepard

I have one. It's been a great saw. A bit heavy by today's standards, but I've only replaced rubber mounts on it.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

BradMarks

Never saw the 66.  I remember the 65 being a heavy, vibrating saw.  We ran the 61's at the time.

sablatnic

I have never seen one either. Could it be an open ported 266?