iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Safety tips please

Started by outpost22, November 20, 2015, 02:57:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

outpost22

New guy here. I am just setting up my mill and would like input firstly on your safety tips. I have used Alaskan Mills, but now I have a band saw mill.  It is locally made here in Oregon and I was able to buy it used from my neighbor. Construction is all heavy gauge steel with a 30' total track length. I still have some more set up to do.
I was hoping those with experience can either link some good info or tell me what you consider good procedural safety items you focus on.  I have a lot of construction experience and chainsaw experience as well. This, however, is a new ballgame with some similarities to other heavy work.  Thanks in advance

Creating one more project one at a time.
Burg Bandsaw Mill
Stihl 010
Stihl 210
Stihl 251
Stihl 461
Husky 350
Kubota L3800

Ianab

Small band mills like that are pretty safe to operate, just keep away from the sharp bits when they are moving. Don't get in the way of the sawdust chute either. If a band breaks chunks of sharp metal can get thrown out there at speed.

More hazardous is probably log moving and handling, and tripping up on debris round the mill.

A lot of it is common sense, like not getting in front of a rolling log, or behind one you are rolling up a ramp. Not jamming fingers under a cant as you flip it on the mill, and keeping the work area tidy so you don't trip on rubbish and turn an ankle etc. Most of those things aren't life threatening, but will put a damper on your day.  :'(
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

terrifictimbersllc

Hard toe boots, and safety glasses when the band is running.

Another consideration is making sure observers and helpers don't get injured.