iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sycamore log's ?

Started by BargeMonkey, November 13, 2015, 08:01:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BargeMonkey

Anyone ever saw alot of it ? I got some real nice ones off these clearcuts I just did but haven't ever come across alot of it. Mostly just pallet stock ?

GAB

Quote from: BargeMonkey on November 13, 2015, 08:01:00 PM
Anyone ever saw alot of it ? I got some real nice ones off these clearcuts I just did but haven't ever come across alot of it. Mostly just pallet stock ?

I was told that if you quartersaw it that it is beautiful wood.
Note that I have no personal experience with sycamore.
Gerald
W-M LT40HDD34, SLR, JD 420, JD 950w/loader and Woods backhoe, V3507 Fransguard winch, Cordwood Saw, 18' flat bed trailer, and other toys.

OH logger

I can sell the nice ones for rotary logs sometimes if they are clean and not wind shook. they be fun to cut ;D
john

gww

I really like how the blade goes through them and it is a pretty kind of orange wood.  I have an 8x8 post that is cracking pretty bad and I made some 2x4s that the stress in the log wouldn't allow me to get consistant board thickness.  I still have some to cut and will probly make one bys for maby flooring.

I would be interested in what you eventually do with yours.  Looking for ideals.
Thanks
gww

CCC4

I cut quite a bit of it. I also have heard it was beautiful 1/4 sawn. I love when I cut the blood hearted ones. Sycamore cuts so awesome...you can throw about anything at it.

Scrag and ties here.

treeslayer2003

same here, ties, matts, pallets. i don't get many, when i do they are tall and heavy. and yes, blood red.

Joey Grimes

Quatersawn sycamore is beautiful .Some logs are full of stress and makes them tough to saw.
94 woodmizer lt40 HD kabota 5200 ford 4000 94 international 4700 flatbed and lots of woodworking tools.

Ohio_Bill