iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Where to start?

Started by cmiles, October 27, 2015, 09:41:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cmiles

I am building a stick-built brick pool house with a 21'-4" x 7'long TF gable extension for an outdoor kitchen.  I am an engineer and pretty handy with modern tools, but have no experience with timber framing. I have built a few pole barns other misc structures, but nothing TF. I have considered buying a kit from some of the online company's that offer such, but something inside me keeps saying you should do this.  I have a suitable shop and all winter if that is what it takes to do it.  I only see needing one King truss bent with braces, plus a ridge beam and few a rafters so in the scheme of some of project I see going up on this blog it is relatively small project. Hopefully, it be simple enough for a beginner.  My question really is where do I go to get information for the details of how to design the structure.  I have AutoCAD and am capable of producing shop drawings once I figure out how the structure should be designed.  I have watch a many of the online videos and have a grasp of the basics, but need more info on the details in order to be able to design the structure and properly detail the joints.  I have the overall building design done and I know what I want the TF to look like when I done, I just need to know how to get there.

Are books or learning videos that focus on the design process TF?  I know I will need information on the craftsman techniques also, but I don't think I am ready for that yet. 

Any suggestions you can offer to help me get started in this adventure would be appreciated.

timberwrestler

I'd say hire a timber frame designer.
Brice's website, timberframehq.com is a good start.
Where are you located?
www.uncarvedblockinc.com
www.facebook.com/uncarvedblockinc

cmiles

I am located in Kentucky.

cmiles

Any other suggestion on how to prepare for my first TF project?" :P

Jim_Rogers