iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Everybody needs a box

Started by Larry, October 01, 2015, 03:20:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Larry

I drug home a Powermatic chain mortiser a while back.  The machine came with a few loose parts and I thought I would store them in a box to keep from loosing them.  A quick search did not find a suitable box.  But I'm a woodworker so I should be able to make one without too much effort.

I have a dovetail jig that can also make finger joints.  To much trouble to get it out and go through all the adjustments just for one box.  Same logic about my tablesaw finger joint jig.  Shouldn't take much to make a new jig.

The new jig.

The router I used was one that has been gathering dust for a few years so I'll leave it attached to the jig.  The jig has a couple of nice features.  Doesn't take much room and I can leave it sat up and ready to cut box joints at any time.  Probably put it on the shelf when not in use.

If you made it this far, here is the box. 

Actually it was so much fun I couldn't stop with just one box. 

Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

Ljohnsaw

NICE boxes!
I'd like to see more pictures of the jig.  I have an old router sitting around that could be dedicated to a task.  I don't quite understand the PVC handle thing.
John Sawicky

Just North-East of Sacramento...

SkyTrak 9038, Ford 545D FEL, Davis Little Monster backhoe, Case 16+4 Trencher, Home Built 42" capacity/36" cut Bandmill up to 54' long - using it all to build a timber frame cabin.

mesquite buckeye

Manage 80 acre tree farm in central Missouri and Mesquite timber and about a gozillion saguaros in Arizona.

thecfarm

That box on the left looks mighty diffeant. Good job!!
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

lowpolyjoe