iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tree Felling

Started by abeyanko414, September 24, 2004, 10:09:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

abeyanko414

Ok folks, now be nice to me on this one, I am just looking for some clarification.

I am by no means what most would consider a "seasoned" sawyer. But I have cut down a lot of trees and seen a lot cut down. And since I can first remember I have heard the dangers of the tree "kicking back" or "kicking out", ect. However, I have never once seen it happen. I have been told how it happens, why it happens, how to be safe about it, ect, ect... I have also gotten a lot of conflicting theories....

What is some input you folks could offer me.

leweee

Read the "Scary Tree" post on this forum ... ;D
just another beaver with a chainsaw &  it's never so bad that it couldn't get worse.

Ianab

Hi Abeyanko
I'm not an expert either, but I think what you are talking about is the butt log bouncing back past the postion of the stump. More common in heavily branched 'springy' trees or on rough terrain. The tree hits the ground and the branches act like springs and push the tree back toward the stump. Not a good thing if you are standing there  :o. Thats why it's recomended you walk clear of the stump at a 45 deg angle as soon as the tree starts to fall. Hopefully the butt just hits the ground in front of the stump, but it could roll to the side or bounce back toward the stump.. or even both. Being safe means planning for things that MIGHT happen :P

This log has kicked back a couple of feet over the stump, and could also have rolled off if I had been unlucky. Dont worry I expected this to happen as it was falling uphill. I was 10ft away behind the next tree when it hit the ground ;)

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Tom